Enmanuel

10.png
 
 

 

I am a chunky, sweetheart and I’m six years old. One of my qualities is that I am always grateful to people for anything they do for me. If you give me something or do something for me, you will hear me expressively tell you how much I love it and how thankful I am for it. I love to color in coloring books and have the attention of my caregivers at the House of Refuge (HOR). Another thing I really enjoy, is eating. I actually have to be watched so that I don’t over do it. I am not in school because my mom never enrolled me and now I am behind in my studies.

My mom has been involved in prostitution and my dad is an alcoholic. Many times my mom and dad fight and they yell at us kids. When they would do that, we would many times run away to the streets. The social services threatened to take us away if my parents did not become better. This really caught their attention and the social services said they should send me and my younger brother to the HOR if they wanted to keep us. My aunt and her 3 children also live with us, so things are a little crowded in our house.

Since coming to the HOR, my tutor helps me by giving me educational reinforcement classes and caring for me with love. The Social Coordinator visits our house often, counselling my mom about my specific risks and issues present in our home. She talks to my dad when he is sober. Through the therapies and counselling of the whole team, my family is receiving the help they need and in a very desperate time. They prevented me and my little brother from being left to the streets and virtually raising ourselves.

Please pray for my mom and dad that God would heal them and fill their deep needs, so that we may become a whole, loving family that cares after me and my brother. I really wish to know more about the Jesus that I see so many serve at the House of Refuge, but I have yet to make the decision to surrender all to Him. Thank you for caring enough to sponsoring me and making an impact in my life. I hope to hear from you soon in letters and emails.