Jose Carlos

8.png
 
 

 

I am a handsome 9 year old boy.  I am looked up to by two smaller brothers, ages 4 and 5. My conduct is always well behaved. Since being the oldest in the family, I have to be the most responsible. Being the one always being responsible, results in me not being able to enjoy my childhood and to carry a heavy burden.

Mom tries to take part of my life but sometimes she is more interested in her life than mine. She has been known to be a part of prostitution along with my aunt who we live with. There are several people that live in my house. My uncle, my two brothers, my aunt and her two children and my mom. It is often cramped. My uncle many times gets in a drunken stupor. When he is drunk he hits and yells at us. My mom is hardly ever home because she is always working. There are times when she is home and it's a weekend that she will get drunk too. In these moments, me and my brothers are left to the streets to wander around.

Since coming to the House of Refuge, I have found a place of peace that I can go to, and caring caregivers who show me that I matter. Here I find a place where I can grow and be a kid, not worrying about my responsibilities. My tutor at the House of Refuge helps me with my homework and cares for me with love. The Social Coordinator visits our house often, counselling my aunt and my mom, when she is around, about my specific risks. She also has talked to my uncle when he has been sober.

Please pray for me and my family, I really wish to know more about the Jesus that I see so many serve at the House of Refuge, but I have yet to make the decision to surrender all to Him. Thank you for caring enough to sponsoring me and making an impact in my life. I hope to hear from you soon in letters and emails.